Symposium 2022

May 12th, 2022 4:00pm-7:00pm in NSB

During spring quarter, UCSD ACS-SA partners with the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry to host an Undergraduate Research Symposium celebrating the research contribution of our student chemist community. The event provides our student researchers with a great opportunity to practice science communication using a poster presentation.  Presenting a poster is required for department honors, and the best presenters within each division receive a symposium poster presentation award. More information on department honors and undergraduate student awards can be found below:

Keynote Speaker: 

Dr. Nathan Romero

Nate Romero was born and raised in Grand Rapids, MI. He attended Calvin University as an undergraduate, where he conducted research on gold catalysis under the mentorship of Prof. Carolyn Anderson. In his doctoral studies, Nate studied photoredox catalysis with Prof. Dave Nicewicz at the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill, and received his PhD in 2017. Shortly after, Nate joined the lab of Prof. Tim Swager at MIT as a postdoctoral fellow, and his research at MIT focused on redox-active, luminescent, and degradable polymeric materials. Nate started at UC San Diego in 2020 as an assistant professor, and his research group is interested in developing new organic reactions for polymer synthesis, functionalization, and degradation. Nate enjoys a number of outdoor and creative pursuits, including woodworking, cycling, fishing, hiking, camping, and surfing. 


Thursday, May 12th, 2022 at 4:00 - 7:00 pm

  • Poster Presentations (4:00 - 6:00 pm)

    From 4:00 to 6:00 pm, presenters will be set up throughout NSB. Guests and judges will be able to tour through the auditorium and ask questions. Catering will be provided where guests can eat on the second-floor balcony as well as in the auditorium. Guests are encouraged to wear masks while indoors. (Contact us:

  • Poster Award Ceremony (6:00 - 7:00 pm)

    The keynote address will be given by Dr. Nathan Romero, followed by the poster award ceremony.

Abstract Booklet